Hauraki Gulf Marine Park

Hauraki Gulf Marine Park map
Although many people think that the Hauraki Gulf only includes the area between Bream Head and Cape Colville, it is much bigger than this.

The Story of the Hauraki Gulf takes in the entire Hauraki Gulf Marine Park which covers around 1.4 million hectares of marine space and over fifty islands. Some of the larger islands include Great Barrier Island, Great Mercury Island, Little Barrier Island and Waiheke Island.

Great Mercury Island
Great Mercury Island is part of the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *